WARNING: Potential Panic Attack on the Horizon

And so this is where it all begins…

At the very beginning of our quick and hurried youth, we are constantly pressured to get our lives together.  Though you just barely became legal, please make this life altering decision that follows you after high school and for the remainder of your short-lived life. Find something that interests you.  Find something that you won’t mind making a future out of.  But don’t make it something that’s too impractical.  Make sure that you choose a degree that can get you places.  Choose a degree that you can make a name with.  Make sure that you can make enough money to pay off your student loans while you’re at it, but make sure that it’s something that you won’t hate doing day after day, week after week, month after month.  With practically no aid towards figuring out who you are, high school pushes you out the door and into the real world to fend for yourself with only the slightest glimmer of an idea of what your future entails.  At graduation as one by one as we walk across that stage, the faculty, parents and families cheer on their greatest achievements, wishing them well in their pursuit towards their “dream” college degree.

Though what they don’t warn us is that at the age of 18, you have not a clue as to what you want to do with the rest of your life.

Now if you’re reading this and you are shaking your head like, “No, Emily. I definitely always wanted to be a [insert some responsible and realistic goal here],” then you’re the person I wish I was.  Though I may initially find your claim to be full of crap, I do respect the idea that people have their lives together more than I do. That doesn’t shock me.  I’m a hot mess.  I’m currently in my senior year, with having spent too many semesters attempting to figure out who the hell I am, I finally had decided on, wait for it….a BA in English!  But no worries, as if that major isn’t hard enough to sell, I made sure to pick up a minor along the way in Marketing to better the odds of my Post Graduate life.

After having a meeting with my advisor, I found out that the end of the road as a college student is nearing.  With the way my courses are lining up, I will be a part of the Kent State University Alumni by the end of Fall 2014! Thank you, thank you. But now comes to the biggest question that I never even imagined of having to answer: WHAT NEXT? Let’s say I actually do make it to the end of next fall.  What do I do after college? Like that’s an actual thing that people have to figure out?  C’mon, now.  This whole ‘responsibility’ thing is a nightmare!

So now comes the time where I actually have to try to be this foreign thing that everyone, I believe, calls an “adult”.  In the great words of Liz Lemon, “BLERG!”

And now after having spent what will be nearly five years in higher education, I realized one thing: I have not learned how to survive in the actual adult world.  I am so completely and utterly ill-prepared for what my major will bring me.   I will have spent five years debating what degree I want to complete, yet I have never imagined actually reaching the finish line and graduating.  I can’t even imagine the idea of going back to school for….ugh, I can’t even get myself to say those two disgusting words.  You know what I’m talking about.  Dun dun dun, Graduate School. BARF.  Even if I DID go back, what would my masters be in?  That’s yet another two to three years of running around aimlessly, attempting to look like I know what I’m doing.  P.S.-If I’ve been fooling you this whole time, I’m sorry, but I totally don’t!

We’ll see how things end.  I’m sure that with graduation will come two part-time jobs and no social life for a while.  But no worries!  The collections for my student loans will be in the mail shortly.  So please do me the honor and stick around to make me feel like I’m actually accomplishing something.  I swear not every blog post will be me ranting about my inevitable demise from becoming a Post Grad.  At the least, there will be plenty of Memes and GIFS from my favorite shows (that I probably relate to too much to be anywhere near healthy for me)!  Shut it! I AM Liz Lemon and Mindy Lahiri wrapped together in one with a giant, girly bow!!

I bid you adieu.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

